UConn and Duke matchups highlight SC women's basketball 2017-2018 schedule

UConn and Duke matchups highlight SC women's basketball 2017-2018 schedule

By Josh Hyber/Photo by Allen Sharpe

Get out a red pen, go to your calendar and circle Thursday, Feb. 1.

Make sure you have no plans, because Geno Auriemma and his Connecticut Huskies are coming to Colonial Life Arena that day to face Dawn Staley, South Carolina and the defending women’s basketball national champions.

While you’re at it, circle Sunday, Dec. 3, the day Duke comes to town, and Dec. 21, the day Staley returns to Philadelphia to face her former team, Temple.

The three matchups highlight the Gamecocks’ 2017-2018 non-conference schedule, which was released Thursday. The team’s full-season schedule is now complete, with game times still to be announced.

Staley named head coach of US national team

“Every season we try to put together a competitive non-conference schedule to prepare our team and fans for postseason play,” Staley said in a release. “This year, we accomplished just that.”

With the 13 non-conference games — in addition to the SEC schedule previously released — South Carolina could play as many as 17 of its 29 games against teams that played in the 2017 postseason, including 15 against 2017 NCAA Tournament participants.

As many as nine of the Gamecocks’ upcoming foes finished last season ranked in the top 25, and up to 15 of South Carolina’s matchups could come against teams that won at least 20 games last season.

The non-conference slate includes eight home games and up to six games against teams that played in the 2017 NCAA Tournament.

Complete 2017-2018 schedule

(Home games bolded)

Fri., Nov. 3 — Coker (Exhibition), TBA

Fri., Nov. 10 — Alabama State, TBA

Mon., Nov. 13 —Maryland, TBA

Thu., Nov. 16 — Clemson, TBA

Sun., Nov. 19 — Wofford, TBA (Gulf Coast Showcase)

Fri., Nov. 24 — Rutgers (Naples, Fla.), 1:30 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 25 — St. John’s/Western Michigan (Naples, Fla.), 11 a.m./5 p.m.

Sun., Nov. 26 — ETSU/Notre Dame/USF/Washington St. (Naples, Fla.), 11 a.m./1:30/5/7:30 p.m. Thu., Nov. 30 — Western Carolina, TBA

Sun., Dec. 3 — Duke, TBA

Tue., Dec. 5 — College of Charleston, TBA

Sun., Dec. 17 — Savannah State, TBA

Thu., Dec. 21 — Temple, TBA

Sun., Dec. 31 — Texas A&M, TBA*

Thu., Jan. 4 — Ole Miss, TBA*

Sun., Jan. 7 — Missouri, TBA*

Thu., Jan. 11 — Auburn, TBA*

Sun., Jan. 14 — Tennessee, TBA*

Thu., Jan. 18 — Vanderbilt, TBA*

Sun., Jan. 21 — Kentucky, TBA*

Thu., Jan. 25 — Arkansas, TBA*

Sun., Jan. 28 — Missouri, TBA*

Thu., Feb. 1 — UConn, TBA

Mon., Feb. 5 —Mississippi State, TBA*

Thu., Feb. 8 — Alabama, TBA*

Sun., Feb. 11 — Florida, TBA*

Thu., Feb. 15 — Georgia, TBA*

Sun., Feb. 18 — Kentucky, TBA*

Thu., Feb. 22 — LSU, TBA*

Sun., Feb. 25 —Tennessee, TBA*

*Conference game

SEC Tournament in Nashville

Wed. Feb. 28 — First Round 

Thu., Mar. 1 — Second Round 

Fri., Mar. 2 — Quarterfinals 

Sat., Mar. 3 — Semifinals 

Sun., Mar. 4 — Final