Women's basketball schedule: National champs open SEC play on New Year's Eve

Women's basketball schedule: National champs open SEC play on New Year's Eve

From staff reports/Photo by Jenny Dilworth

South Carolina will host six NCAA Tournament qualifiers among its eight SEC home games in 2017-18.

The National Champion Gamecocks have home-and-home series with Kentucky, Missouri and Tennessee, while Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, LSU and Texas A&M will also visit Colonial Life Arena during conference play, which kicks off on Dec. 31 this season.

Fans show optimism at Fan Appreciation Day | Photos 

South Carolina opens the SEC schedule at home for the fourth straight season, kicking off league play against Texas A&M on Sun., Dec. 31, as the SEC begins play before New Year’s Day for the first time since the 2004-05 campaign. The Aggies advanced to the second round of the 2017 NCAA Tournament, one of six SEC teams to advance at least that far into the event.

January 2018 starts with a pair of road games for South Carolina, traveling to Ole Miss (Thu., Jan. 4) and opening the home-and-home series with Missouri (Sun., Jan. 7). Back at home, two more NCAA Tournament teams come to Columbia in first-round entry Auburn (Thu., Jan. 11) and second-round entry Tennessee (Sun., Jan. 14). Following trips to Vanderbilt (Thu., Jan. 18) and Kentucky (Sun., Jan. 21), the Gamecocks host Arkansas (Thu., Jan. 25) and Missouri (Sun., Jan. 28) to close out the two-game series with the Tigers and wrap up January play.

The national title game rematch kicks off February play with the Gamecocks heading to Mississippi State (Mon., Feb. 5) before continuing the week at Alabama (Thu., Feb. 8). Florida and its new head coach Cameron Newbauer come to Columbia (Sun., Feb. 11) with the Gamecocks then traveling to nearby Georgia (Thu., Feb. 15) the same week. South Carolina hosts a pair of games against Kentucky (Sun., Feb. 18) and LSU (Thu., Feb. 22) to celebrate its seniors in their final regular-season games at Colonial Life Arena, then wraps up the season at Tennessee (Sun., Feb. 25).

2001 gets new, exciting twist 

The 2018 SEC Tournament returns to Nashville and the Bridgestone Arena for the sixth time. The event includes all 14 teams and begins on Wed., Feb. 28, with the championship game set for Sun., March 4.

The SEC women’s basketball television schedule will be announced at a later date, as will times for all games. The Gamecocks will release their non-conference schedule at a later date as well.

South Carolina’s 2017-18 SEC schedule is:

Sun., Dec. 31, vs. Texas A&M

Thu., Jan. 4, at Ole Miss

Sun., Jan. 7, at Missouri

Thu., Jan. 11, vs. Auburn

Sun., Jan. 14, vs. Tennessee

Thu., Jan. 18, at Vanderbilt

Sun., Jan. 21, at Kentucky

Thu., Jan. 25, vs. Arkansas

Sun., Jan. 28, vs. Missouri

Mon., Feb. 5, at Mississippi State

Thu., Feb. 8, at Alabama

Sun., Feb. 11, vs. Florida

Thu., Feb. 15, at Georgia

Sun., Feb. 18, vs. Kentucky

Thu., Feb. 22, vs. LSU

Sun., Feb. 25 at Tennessee

The South Carolina 2017-18 season ticket renewal deadline is Sept. 13, for which invoices have been sent to existing account holders. Fans interested in buying season tickets for the Gamecocks’ upcoming campaign can place a deposit either online at GamecocksOnline.com or by calling the South Carolina Athletics Ticket Office at 1-800-4SC-FANS (472-3267).